iGEM teams

The International Genetically Engineered Machine Competition - iGEM

The Coleman lab has hosted iGEM teams since 2013. iGEM is a global competition in synthetic biology, where students compete to create the most useful or novel GMO microbe. All the information that they generate and all the new DNA elements that they construct are made publicly available; this is an excellent example of open source science.  Links to the University of Sydney iGEM teams' project websites are given below. Their DNA parts can be found in the Parts Registry here: http://parts.igem.org/Main_Page 

USyd iGEM team 2017 "DISCO". From left: Ruby Dawes, Erica Stewart, Grace Attrill, Courtney Pratt, Jamie Littleboy, Stephanie Sun, Alex Kelly, Emaleen Najjar

USyd iGEM team 2016 "FRES(H)". From left: Liam Ferguson, (Nick Coleman), Claudia Moratti, Amanda Chen, Wunna Kyaw, Alma Wu, Sholto Douglas, Sing-Young Chen, Orion Tong

USyd iGEM team 2015 "Myco Mimic". From left: Lizzie Richardson, Mark Somerville, Mahiar Mahjoub, Gaia Hermann, Harrison Steel, Sandi Bo

USyd iGEM team 2014 "Easy cloni". From left: Andy Bachler, Jeanne Zhang, Abigail Sison, Rokiah Alford, Callum Grey, Tom Connor

USyd iGEM team 2013 "DCA Down Under". From left: Cyril Tang, Vivian Li, (Nick Coleman), Robbie Oppenheimer, Andrew Tuckwell, James Bergfield, Shuravi Paul. (not shown): Desmond Li, Hugh Ford